Sunday, August 6, 2017

A Vintage Wedding


A Vintage Wedding
by Katie Fforde
Bookouture
Romance , Women's Fiction
Pub Date 09 Aug 2017   
EDITION
ISBN
PRICE
FTC Reviewed  ARC for Bookouture and Net Galley

Description

Celebrate a summer of friendship, a vintage wedding and a happy-ever-after ending ...
In a cosy country village, Beth, Lindy and Rachel are all looking for new beginnings.

A chance meeting one evening results in an instant friendship between the three women. And they decide to pool their talents and set up their dream business together. 

Soon they are having the time of their lives organizing stylish and affordable vintage weddings. The summer becomes busier than they could ever have imagined as they sew bunting, bake cakes and add extra sparkle to the special days they create. 

But what none of them realize is that their own romances lie waiting, just around the corner ...
A Vintage Wedding is a gorgeous, uplifting romance novel about the magic of love, friendship and second chances. The perfect read for fans of Susan Mallery, Mary Kay Andrews and Debbie Macomber.


My Thoughts

I enjoy the plot of The Vintage Wedding. Three women, Beth, Lindy, and Rachel meet, per chance, at the Save Our Village Hall meeting. They agree it would be a great place for a wedding. And, they join together to organize inexpensive Vintage Weddings. 

Beth is in the village to help her sister, Helena, organize her wedding.

Lindy is a young seamstress and the single mother of two young boys.

Rachel is recently divorced. We learn she is an organized accountant and a bit controlling.

The references of  Raff to Mr.Darcy and of the 'Finn and the McCools' band,  I found amusing.

Life and relationships formed in the Cotswold village are interesting. We read the description of the wedding arrangements are, "The fragrance of the spring flowers was lovely. The five jam jars on each table looked extravagant. And although the Flower Guild had said there wasn't time to decorate the marquee itself very much, they had found time to wind swatches of net and ivy and narcissus from the centres, covering the supporting struts.The roof was tented with net and tiny lights that gave the impression of being a fairy palace." 


This appears to be a get out of the rut you are in ....type of read.  So, if you are interested in a nice - easy, slightly - charming, village romance, then this Katie Fforde novel might just be the book for you.



Katie Fforde's ' A Secret Garden' review is  here.

No comments:

Post a Comment